Understanding coffee grading

Understanding coffee grading

How to Understand Coffee Grading

The coffee beans used are frequently the key to a great cup of coffee. You may have heard someone mention coffee grades while discussing speciality coffee. How are raw coffee beans graded, also?

There is a method for identifying the quality of the cup that the coffee bean produces aside from the microclimate of origin if the coffee is a single origin or from several farms in one location within the climate. We refer to this as a coffee grade.

Why there are Variations in universal grading?

Although coffee grading systems across the world are varied, they do provide a sense of quality. Every country has its grading and classification system; there is no common system. In other words, a grade 1 in one country could not be like a grade 3 in another. Beans from a certain environment in the world that are renowned for particular qualities are referred to as speciality coffee. However, the Speciality Coffee Association classifies speciality coffee in other ways. It must also be produced sustainably and with moral standards. As it involves eyes and ears on the ground, this is typically the item that is the most difficult to evaluate.

How coffee beans are graded?

There is a method for identifying the quality of the cup that the coffee bean produces aside from the microclimate of origin if the coffee is a single origin or from several farms in one location within the climate. We refer to this as a coffee grade. Classification or grading of coffees is done by most coffee sellers by considering the following;



  • The defect count:

We do a visual evaluation of the coffee using the defect count and screen size of the beans. Through a procedure known as "green grading," we examine bean uniformity, cleanliness, and the presence of flaws.

  • The bean’s screen size:

To ensure that the beans are of the same size, the beans must be screened. To determine the beans' average size overall, the beans are sorted via a screen. The hulled green beans are sorted over screens with various-sized holes to determine the quality of the coffee. The amount of beans still in each screen is weighed after which the percentage of the total is noted. The green beans are sorted across screens with holes of various sizes after the husk has been removed. In this way, larger beans are separated from smaller beans.

  • By tasting the coffee.

Following roasting, the coffee will be taste-tested for a particular flavour profile in line with the goals of the grower and the roaster. The degree to which it adheres to the intended taste will decide whether it is given a better or lower grade. In other words, you can determine the degree of quality by sight, size, and taste.

Coffee Bean: Different Coffee Grades

Five categories of coffee beans have been determined using this system of classification, each showing varying degrees of defects. Large stones, immature beans, and shells are the three main faults that may be discovered in coffee beans.

  1. Grade 1-Specialty Graded Beans

The best coffee bean currently on the market is this one. Speciality grade coffee beans can only have 0–3 complete secondary problems and no main flaws. Only 5% of the overall sample can have different bean sizes in this coffee. When beans are roasted, they must be free of "Quakers," which are beans that are either too green or too darkly roasted. The best desire in the market is regarded as speciality-grade coffee. It produces a cup that is faultless. The targeted flavour will be perceived on the tongue in terms of the flavour profile. There will be a difference in the tastes that the grower and roaster desire.

  1. Grade 2-Premium Grade Beans:

Premium coffee beans, which are given to grade 2, are quite comparable to speciality coffee beans. These are the beans that are most frequently offered at cafés throughout the world. The main distinction between Grade 2 and Grade 1 coffee beans is that the former can contain up to six defects, while the latter premium can only have three.

  1. Grade 3- Exchange Coffee:

These coffee beans are still solid, but they adhere to somewhat different requirements, such as the following:

  • It's possible that more than half of the batch will fit on the screen.
  • The screen's fractures might allow between 5-15% of the beans to escape.
  • This grade allows for flaws that range from 9-23 defects.
  • This is most likely the grade you will obtain if you buy coffee beans from a store.
  1. Grade 4- Standard Grade Coffee Beans

Standard coffee beans are not the finest in terms of taste and quality. If you buy standard-grade coffee beans, there may be certain hazards. In a batch of 300 grammes, there might be as many as 86 total defects. The flavour, aroma, and acidity may as a result be off.

  1. Grade 5-off Grade Beans

These would be the coffee beans that you want to avoid since they are the worst of the batch. Finally, coffee beans are categorized as grade 5 or off-grade if they fail to fulfil any of the aforementioned requirements. In this batch, there are more than 86 full defects in a 300-gram bag. You shouldn't probably drink coffee made with these beans.


When grading a particular batch of coffee beans, roasters take several factors into account. You'll probably obtain high-quality coffee beans if you purchase your coffee from a coffee shop.  You may enjoy your daily cup of coffee even more by becoming more knowledgeable about coffee grading. You might even be able to buy the best beans to roast yourself at home, giving you the chance to personalize your cup of coffee to suit your tastes. The majority of the time, coffee wholesalers and suppliers value the coffee grading system. It might not mean anything to the typical individual. However, having such knowledge is advantageous. It's important to understand the grading system so you can be aware of the quality of your coffee beans whether you purchase coffee beans from suppliers.







Back to blog